Pauline S Hvz

Over charged

Booked online for movie and continued to be charged monthly for 8 months was over charged $10.49 monthly for past 8 months Can not get resolve because I tossed my card/ ceniplex in garbage last month and your team did not help find resolution
View full review
Loss:
$84
Cons:
  • No service
  • Will be charged and not informed

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Inform customers they will be charged a fee monthly

Resolved
Lawrence V Ihv

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Movie passes a ripoff

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Cineplex - Movie passes a ripoff
Updated by user Mar 16, 2024

My understanding is what I have is coupon not a pass - so it works by entering the coupon code.

Original review Mar 14, 2024
When did movie passes become such a rip-off. I have a number of passes I cant use because almost all the movies sayNo Passes. Do I have to wait until a movie is about to go to streaming before I can use the pass at a theatre?
View full review

Preferred solution: Accept my passes for shows I want to see - 6 passes for 2

User's recommendation: Do not buy passes

Resolved
MarieRoxanne A

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Refund of unused ticket

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Apr 08, 2024

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with partial refund. Emailed their customer service and explained what happened as I was not able to do with the live chat agent. Booking fee is non refundable and that is fine with me, thank you for the great service.

Original review Apr 08, 2024
We were late 5 mins for showtime but when we arrive all doors were locked and unable to get in. I tried to call customer service but it was closed already, so Im looking either for a refund or exchange. I tried with their live chat with agent but i was not even given time to explain, he just forwarded me the message that it was past showtime so refund was not gonna happen. I then tried emailing them thru pissed consumer and explained what happened. I got a response and a refund within 1hr! Thank you Navya S. Great service!
View full review
Loss:
$2

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Try emailing them instead of the live chat with agent.

DElder E

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Promised a refund but after more than four weeks and several calls still no refund after PayPal purchase did not generate eTickets. DO NOT USE PAYPAL WITH CINEPLEX!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
On February 28, 2024, I attempted to purchase 2 DBOX tickets for Dune Part Two through PayPal on the Cineplex website. According to PayPal, the payment went through for $58.80 on my Visa CC. However, I did not receive the eTickets from Cineplex. I called Cineplex Guest Services a few minutes later and spoke to Shakina A. She said the tickets were not generated. I asked if she could issue them and she said she couldn't. She said she would request a refund to my credit card which could take 7-10 business days and advised me to try to purchase them again. She confirmed this by email with reference: Case GSC103****. I then purchased the same tickets online NOT using PayPal successfully and received my eTickets. On March 14, 2024, I called Cineplex Guest Services and spoke to Palak T. He said the refund to my credit card for some unknown reason did not go through and that he would request a cheque refund to be mailed. He said that I should expect it within 2-3 weeks! He also confirmed this in an email to me with the following new reference: CaseGSC105****. On April 3, 2024, I called Cineplex Guest Services and spoke to Hameet (?) to ask for confirmation if the cheque had been processed, and if so, to please provide me with the cheque #, date and the date it was mailed. He said he would contact accounting and call me back by the end of the day but he did not call back. I also told him that I would be filing a complaint with the BBB and senind a letter to Cineplex head office. I want an apology with a refund from Cineplex for not only their dysfunctional system but also for wasting so much of my time.
View full review
Loss:
$59
Pros:
  • Provides big screen movie entertainment
Cons:
  • Terrible at processing a simple refund and guest service

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: DO NOT USE PAYPAL ESPECIALLY WITH CINEPLEX. PAYPAL WILL NOT HELP YOU. THEY TELL YOU TO COMPLAIN TO SELLER. CINEPLEX WILL GIVE YOU THE RUN-AROUND. AVOID BUYING ONLINE WITH CINEPLEX.

Ashley H Hxh

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Charged for a ticket that I never received

Cineplex - Charged for a ticket that I never received
Hello on march 27 I attempted to buy a ticket on the app and I got an error. I was charged $15.53 but never received a ticket. I had to ultimately get a friend to order our tickets. I did not notice till I went through my bank statements a couple days ago. That I was charged for the price of one ticket but when I look on my Cineplex account, nothing shows up for that date. I would like a refund for the $15.53 I was charged before I go to my bank. Im unimpressed with this as its already decently expensive to go to the movies and this was the quality of service I received.
View full review
Loss:
$16

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Check your bank account if you get an error on the Cineplex app apparently

Anna C Njj

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Over charged

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Cineplex - Over charged
Cineplex - Over charged - Image 2
I went to Scotiabank theatre on Feb 25 with my daughter. We got food and drinks before the movie. My receipt shows 1 Lg popcorn, 2 reg drinks and 1 bottle Vitaminwater. I changed my soft drink to the Vitaminwater but the cashier didnt remove the charge of 5.99 and I didnt look at receipt until I got home. I want to comment that the cashier was alone at the food station and there was quite a line of customers. Perhaps she was stressed or didnt hear me. Regardless, I would appreciate some type of credit so I dont end up paying 11.98 for the one soft drink I actually got. I have saved our ticket stubs and my food and drink receipt. Also my Scene card # if you require. Thanks. Anna Conrad
View full review
Loss:
$7
Pros:
  • Lots of showtimes and movies
Cons:
  • Theatres are often freezing cold in winter and hot in summer

Preferred solution: Full refund

DakotaMaxxis R

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Harassment and Spam complaint.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Hello cineplex admin, I have repeatedly been spammed and harassed by the email team at cineplex Canada. While in Canada, I went one time to a cineplex in Calgary where I was required to give an email to receive my ticket. There was either no way to opt out of receiving contact, or I selected to not receive any contact. Since then, I have repeatedly been spammed and harassed by the cineplex emails. Unsubscribing does not work, trust me, I have tried hundreds of times. I am unable to afford to call the cineplex canada customer support number as it would be a very expensive international call. There is also no customer support email for the Canada team listed on your official sites anywhere for the canada cineplex (at least on the sites not blocked by my location being in Australia). Hence I am resorting to this service (Pissedconsumer) to contact you. I have sent a similar email as this to the Australian cineplex customer service as well. Please, I am begging you to stop the spam and harassment. My email receiving the spam in question is dakotarowe.2004@***.com. If there is any account linked with my email, I demand to have it deleted immediately. If this is not the correct email to contact about this, forward mine onto the correct email, or at a minimum, provide me with the email addresses necessary for me to forward my email to them myself. If I have at a minimum not heard from cineplex about this issue within 3 business days from today (22/01/2024), I will first inform all relevant government spam prevention services in Canada, such as the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC)s Compliance and Enforcement team. I will also contact this service immediately upon receiving any further spam or harassment from your company, regardless of how soon I receive it after having sent this email. Furthermore, if this is not entirely sorted within a reasonably prompt timeframe. I will not only inform the CRTCs Compliance and Enforcement team, regardless of the promptness of the initial response. I will also take personal legal action against the company under the Canadian Anti-Spam Law (CASL, in effect since 2014)s Private Right of Action. Thank you for all time and consideration from you and your team. I hope for your sake and my own that we can resolve this situation quickly and effectively. Signed, Dakota Maxxis Rowe
View full review

Preferred solution: End to the incessant spam and harrassment.

User's recommendation: Do not under any circumstances provide your email, any contact information, or any personal information (including legal name) to this company.

Tanya K Aom

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Ticket refund

Cineplex - Ticket refund
Hello I purchased 4 tickets online for queensway cinemas for Sunday for kung *** panda but was not able to attend.. I would like to get a refund for this
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

1 comment
Guest

Good luck! What Cineplex promised and what they deliver is completely different.

Any sensible company would offer a ticket exchange but that is too much to expect. After more than the 10 days of waiting for refund to credit card; I had to follow up only to find out they never processed the refund and have to escalate to business department to figure out how I get my money back.

Doris L Rte

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Maple, Ontario

Broken recliner seat for family day celebration of 6

Cineplex - Broken recliner seat for family day celebration of 6
I purchased six tickets for a family event on family day. To celebrate my birthday of 70 and my daughters birthday of 47 we decided to take everyone to see the Bob Marley movie. The importance was to sit in the group. Everything was great until we sat down in the seats, and one seat was broken. The very best they could do was offer a single seat somewhere else. When my husband got to that seat, it was already occupied. rather than cause a commotion with more confrontation, he simply sat in the broken seat. Although Cineplex. Thought they resolve the problem they did not. They did not even check to see that things are OK. They did not walk into assure the seat was empty. I paid almost $100 for the seats and when you consider another $90 spent on popcorn it was a total waste of money. I prefer now to wait for the rental and enjoy it in the comfort of my own home. This was shameful customer service, and customer relations.
View full review

User's recommendation: Avoid reclining seats

Deanna L Pgj

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker North Vancouver, British Columbia

Phone usage

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Cineplex - Phone usage
The trio next to me were on their phones for a majority of the movie. I could not find the manager at scotia bank theater. Was with my daughter and did not want to confront them. 6:20 showing of the beekeeper.
View full review
Sergey R Ahz

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

No glasses given for 3D screening of Panda 4

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
My 2 sons went to the Cineplex Richmond Hill yesterday to watch Panda 4 movie. When I asked them after the movie how was that, they said that movie was funny, but graphics was blurry and weird. Apparently nobody gave them 3D glasses. It completely ruined the movie experience for them. I would like to ask for refund or replacement tickets so my sons can go again and watch the movie the way it was intended.
View full review
Loss:
$32

Preferred solution: Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Ottawa, Ontario

Terrible 1st time VIP experience

We arrived late to a movie (totally our fault, we didn't leave enough time for road conditions and wanted to arrive safely). When we got there, hostess greeted us and directed us to the lounge (we wanted food but missed the "service" time pre-movie) and where to find our theatre. So we walk next door to the lounge and the bartender ignores us. He's chatting with someone else. The girl behind the bar says he'll be right with us. We stand there being ignored. The hostess who knows we are late and why, watches the entire thing and doesn't say a word to hurry the bartender along. Finally we get so frustrated (mind you the movie is playing while we are standing there waiting...) we go to take our seats. 50 minutes later a fire alarm goes off and our theatre starts to empty. A manager comes in and announces that it's a false alarm. There's time to visit the refreshment stand or washrooms while they boot up the system. Awesome. I rip over to the lounge and place our food order. Then hear over the walkie talkies that they're firing up the screens again. I hear them say my screen is going again as I'm waiting for my food. WTF? Food comes out and has to be sent back as it's incorrect. WTF??? Also comes out on two giant trays when I am one person and can't carry it all. They won't help me to my seat even though I ask. When I get to the theatre, the door is closed so I have to balance my tray and push the wheelchair button. No starff around to help. When we get home I go online to complain and they end the chat on me. I start a new complaint and the human on the other end was so flippant. "You should have asked for help" CAN YOU PLEASE BE FOR REAL?!?! Worst customer service EVER. Will never go to another VIP theatre. Totally overrated and subpar service standards. Bartender not worth a *** either.
View full review

User's recommendation: 0/10 DO NOT GO

Danielle T Jyr

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Cineplex home app never works

On multiple occasions our cineplex app has not worked or started playing a movie and then come up with an error: code 2 message. Yesterday we rented a movie and it played 2 minutes of the movie and then came up with the Error: code 2 message. Our internet and tv have both been checked and are working properly. We paid for the movie, have 24 hours to watch it and are unable to. While looking into this issue I have come across many complaints of unhappy customers. Not impressed
View full review
Loss:
$10
Cons:
  • App never works

Preferred solution: Full refund

Anonymous
map-marker Maple Ridge, British Columbia

To ask if my husband dropped his wallet there by accident

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
I was told theres no number for us to be able to talk to someone on the phone and that we would need to physically go to the theatre and ask so thats what my husband did, shame though, would have been nice if there was one number
View full review

User's recommendation: Hopefully there will be a number soon

Anastasha Dff

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

For 2 month now Cineplex is not able to unsubscribe my email

Unable to complete the simple task of unsubscribing my email address and deleting my account. I send more than a dozen requests to their tech and customer support.
View full review

Preferred solution: Unsubscribe my email from Cineplex spam.

Zachary D Goy

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

I dont have that phone number for two step authentication.

Cineplex - I dont have that phone number for two step authentication.
I can't log into my account because of the two step authentication to my old phone number which is 587 439**** and I want to update it but I can't
View full review

Preferred solution: Just want to watch my movie I paid for

Brands Related to Cineplex

Player One Amusement Grou... reviews and complaints

Player One Amusement Grou...

0 Reviews

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article